Site icon Opportunities in the African Space Industry

Submit Nominations for the Women in Astronomy Awards 2021

The African Network of Women in Astronomy (AfNWA) is inviting nominations for the 2021 Women in Astronomy in Africa awards. AfNWA is a sub-committee of the African Astronomical Society (AfAS) and is collaborating with the International Science Programme (ISP), Uppsala University, Sweden. The award is to recognise and support the scientific achievements and contributions to women in Astronomy in Africa. 


The awards are offered in the following categories:

Both awards include an award certificate to be presented during the next AFAS general meeting and EUR 1,500 (USD 1,695) per award. Depending on the general AfAS meeting organisation, awardees may have an opportunity to present their achievements in a talk.


To qualify for the award, you should: 


2 November 2021 Call for nominations opens
30 November 2021 Call for nominations closes
15 December 2021 Shortlist agreed
15 January 2022 Review panel meets to decide on the award
25 January 2022 Awards announced 
March 2022 Prize winners who receive an opportunity to present at the AfAS conference

You can nominate someone or apply through this link. 

Click here to get real time data and information on every Segments and players in the African space and satellite industry.