Apply To Participate In The 44th International School for Young Astronomers


The International School for Young Astronomers (ISYA) is a long-tradition project of the International Astronomical Union (IAU). It is co-sponsored by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (NASL) through the Office for Young Astronomers (OYA). The school is co-organized by the OYA and the South African Astronomical Observatory (SAAO).

The 44th International School for Young Astronomers (ISYA2020SA) will take place in Cape Town, South Africa, from the 22nd November to the 11th of December, 2020.

ISYAs are three-week international graduate schools for regions where students have less opportunity to be directly exposed to the full extent of up-to-date astrophysics. They have the purpose of broadening the young students’ perspective from international lecturers with up-to-date astrophysics, both on theory and observations.

This three-week school will be also beneficial for the academic exchanges within countries, especially in Africa. During this school, students will attend lectures covering a wide range of topics, practical courses on Radio Astronomy, Astrostatistics and the Virtual Observatory, and a trip to and hands-on experience observing with optical telescopes at the SAAO observing site in Sutherland.

Students and young professionals within a broad range of education and experience, from senior undergraduate to doctoral level, are welcome to the ISYA 2020 in South Africa. Preference will be given to students in their early career, MSc/PhDs. Priority will be given to applicants from the African continent.

Acceptance to the school includes a studentship that covers transportation to Cape Town and back to the students´ home location and full boarding at the ISYA (meals are included). All selected students are expected to commit 100% of their time to the three-week-long program and participate in all scheduled activities.

Scientific Program:

  • Stellar Structure and Evolution:  Shazrene Mohammed (SAAO/UCT, South Africa)
  • Galaxy Evolution:  Michelle Cluver (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
  • Cosmology: David Mota (U. Oslo, Norway)
  • Galactic (MW) Astronomy: Francesca Figueras (University of Barcelona, Spain)
  • Interstellar Medium: Alexander Tielens (Leiden University, Netherlands)
  • Radio Astronomy: James Chibueze (North-West University, South Africa)
  • Solar System and Exoplanets: Jane Luu (MIT, USA)
  • Virtual Observatory and Databases: Itziar Aretxaga (INAOE, Mexico)
  • Astrostatistics Lab: Juan Rafael Martínez (Center for Astrophysics, Smithsonian, USA)
  • Optical Observational Techniques: Rudi Kuhn (SAAO, South Africa)

    Applications Open: February 15th, 2020
    Deadline for application:  April 30th, 2020
    Notification of acceptance: May 2020

Applications are now received at

For further information, contact the organizers at

Click here to get real time data and information on every Segments and players in the African space and satellite industry.